How to Delete or Change Your "Best Friends" on Snapchat

Published: September 22, 2017 - 9:05am EDT

Snapchat app on smartphone

Snapchat, the popular mobile messaging application, integrates a "best friends" system that helps you keep track of whom you interact with on it the most. Based on whom you chat with on Snapchat most frequently (or not), Snapchat may assign a different "emoji" – a small symbol representing a person, emotion, activity, or object – to that friend on your Friends List.

But what if you want these symbols to show up for different friends? Or what if you don't want these symbols to show up at all? Is there anything you can do? We'll explain the answers in this article.

So, to recap, what are Snapchat "best friends"?

"Best Friends" on Snapchat are friends whom you send messages to often, and/or who send messages frequently to you. Depending on how regularly you and a friend interact with each other, the emoji used to represent your "best friend" status will change – for you, them, and your other friends.

Note that Snapchat keeps track of the specific number of times you interact with a certain friend, as well as the total number of times you've sent or viewed messages. These numbers not only factor into who are your "best friends", but they also contribute to your "score" on Snapchat, which you can find beside the user name of pretty much anyone on Snapchat.

Snapchat score

If you tap your own score, you can see a tally of the number of messages you've sent versus the number you've viewed.

Sent and received messages totals

So what does each emoji tell me about my "best friend" status with a person?

These are the default "best friend" emojis on Snapchat. If you'd like to customize them, instructions for doing so can be found in this help article on Snapchat.

BFs (Best Friends)
Best Friends emoji
This is a friend whom you send a lot of messages to. They may also send a lot of messages to you, but not the most out of all their friends.

Their BF, But...
Their BF but... emoji
This friend sends you a lot of messages, but you don't send many messages back to them (or at least not the most of all your friends).

Mutual BFs
Mutual BFs emoji
This friend has at least one "best friend" who is also one of your "best friends." Maybe you two could become "best friends," too!

Mutual Besties
Mutal Besties emoji
This friend's "#1 best friend" is the same as your "#1 best friend." Does that make you two rivals?

Besties
Besties emoji
This is the friend whom you send the most messages to, and you are their friend whom they send the most messages to.

BFF (Best Friend Forever)
BFF emoji
You and this friend have been each other's "#1 best friends" for at least two weeks.

Super BFF
Super BFF emoji
You and this friend have been each other's "#1 best friends" for at least two months.

Alright, so can I delete or change who my "best friends" are?

Snapchat doesn't currently let you manually choose who your "best friends" are. It also doesn't let you disable "best friend" emojis, though you can customize them. The best you can do is either delete users from your friends list entirely, or just change how often you interact with them.

The good news is that nobody except you can see who all your "best friends" are by going to your Friends List. Your friends can, however, see if they have "best friends" in common with you (as denoted by the "Mutual BFs" and "Mutual Besties" emojis).

How do I change my "best friends" by modifying my Snapchat behaviour?

Snapchat assigns you "best friends" based on how often you exchange messages with them, right? So, all you have to do is send more messages to the friends whom you want to be your "best friends"! Conversely, just stop sending messages to friends for whom you want to remove the "best friend" status.

How do I delete someone from my Friends List on Snapchat?

If you really don't want someone to be your "best friend" on Snapchat, you can remove them from your Friends List altogether. Here's how to do that:

  1. Turn on your mobile device, then find the Snapchat application and tap it to open it. Once it has launched, log into your account.

    Snapchat app
     
  2. Once the main screen appears, tap the ghost icon to open the main menu.

    Snapchat main menu
     
  3. When the main menu opens, tap My Friends to see your Friends List.

    View Snapchat friends list
     
  4. Once you reach your Friends List, tap the name of the friend whom you want to delete. A dialogue box will pop up; from here, tap the gear icon to access additional options.

    Select a friend to delete from Snapchat
     
  5. Now, all you have to do is tap Remove Friend to delete this person from your Friends List. You don't get a confirmation dialogue box asking if you really want to remove them, but don't panic! You can simply find them and add them as a friend again if you delete them by accident.

    Delete button

 

That's about everything we can tell you about changing or removing your "best friends" on Snapchat! If you want to learn how to add friends or chat with them – or do any of Snapchat's other basic functions, for that matter – be sure to head over to our Snapchat course!

Support TechBoomers

TechBoomers offers free articles that teach people how to use technology to make their lives easier (and more fun!). To support our work, some of our content contains links to websites that pay us affiliate commissions when our users visit them through us and make purchases. Learn more about how this works.

Add your comments below. We'd love to hear from you!