How to Delete a Tinder Account or Temporarily Hide Your Profile

Has Tinder failed to get any relationship fires going for you? Or maybe you’re not a big fan of the new Tinder Places feature that tracks where you go. If so, you might want to check out one of the better apps like Tinder that can help you find a different kind of relationship, such as Match.com or eHarmony.com? If you’d like to snuff out your Tinder account, we can show you how it’s done.

Important: Before you delete your account, you should know that Tinder allows you to temporarily hide your profile instead. This helps you keep your information if you might want your account in the future, without anyone else having access to your personal info. To learn how to do this, and what it means, jump down here. If not, here’s how to delete a Tinder account.

To delete Tinder and cancel your account:

  1. Launch the Tinder app on your mobile device.
  2. Tap your profile icon at the top of the main screen.
  3. Tap Settings.
  4. Scroll down and tap Delete Account.
  5. Exit the app and tap and hold the Tinder logo on your home screen.
  6. Drag it to the trash can to fully delete the app.

Screenshot sequence of how to delete a Tinder account

If you think you might want to use your Tinder account again in the future, you might want to consider temporarily disabling it instead.

 

To temporarily disable a Tinder account:

Temporarily disabling a Tinder account hides your profile from making any future matches with anyone using Tinder. To do this:

  1. Launch the Tinder app on your mobile device.
  2. Tap your profile icon at the top of the main screen.
  3. Tap Settings.
  4. Scroll down to the “Discovery Settings” heading and tap the Show Me on Tinder

(Red means it is enabled, while grey means it is disabled)

Screenshot sequence for how to temporarily disable a Tinder account

With the Discovery service off, any new potential match will not be able to see or access your profile. However, any person you have already matched with, or have already initiated a chat with, will still be able to see your profile.

Once your account has successfully been deleted, all “likes,” matches, messages, photos, and other information associated with your account will be lost and can never be recovered. However, you can create a new Tinder account in the future, even using the same login information, or with your same Facebook account – even if you used it to sign up the first time.

 

If you’re looking for something more serious, or need some tips for online dating, check out these helpful articles:

 

More Great Related Articles