How To Cancel LinkedIn Premium

Last updated: January 17, 2017 - 3:57pm EST

If you’ve read our article on LinkedIn Premium, you know about all of the great features you can get with a subscription to a LinkedIn.com Premium account. But if you’ve signed up and then realized you don’t need all of the added features, or if you’ve already used LinkedIn to find a job, you may not need to pay for LinkedIn anymore, and simply want to leave your online resume up. If you need to learn how cancel LinkedIn Premium, you’ve come to the right place.

To cancel LinkedIn Premium:

  1. Visit LinkedIn.com in a web browser and sign in.
  2. Hover over your profile picture in the top-right of the screen.
  3. Beside "Account: Premium," click Manage.
  4. Under "Account Type," click Cancel Subscription.
  5. Choose a reason for cancelling your account, and then click Continue.
  6. Click Cancel My Subscription.

Do you want a little more detail for each step? Check out our detailed set of instructions below (with images) so you can understand each step a little better.

Detailed Instructions for how to cancel LinkedIn Premium

1. Visit LinkedIn.com in your web browser of choice.

Any web browser will do the trick, so use your favorite web browser and enter www.linkedin.com in the address bar. Then, make sure you sign into your LinkedIn account.

LinkedIn sign in screen

2. Access your LinkedIn settings, and manage your account subscriptions.

Hover your mouse over your profile picture in the top-right corner of the screen, and then click Manage on the drop-down menu, listed beside “Account: Premium.”

LinkedIn menu

3. Find your account type and cancel your subscription.

Find the blue link on the page labelled “Cancel Subscription” and click on it.

Manage LinkedIn accounts

4. Indicate a reason for why you are cancelling your subscription to LinkedIn Premium.

From a list of options on the page, click a bubble to choose a reason for why you are cancelling your LinkedIn Premium subscription. When you’re done, click Continue.

Cancel LinkedIn Premium button

5. Permanently cancel your Premium subscription.

On the final page, click Cancel My Subscription. Once you do that, your subscription to Premium will be finished.

Complete cancellation of LinkedIn account

3 notes for cancelling your LinkedIn Premium account

  1. Remember that if you cancel a subscription to LinkedIn Premium, you still have the free LinkedIn account. You will need to delete your LinkedIn account it you want to take your LinkedIn profile off of LinkedIn.com for good.
  2. You will still have access to your LinkedIn account Premium features until the end of your billing period. So for example, if your billing period ends on the 17th of the month, and you cancel on the 10th, you will still have 7 days of LinkedIn Premium before your account reverts back to the free account.
  3. Once you find a job, it may often make sense to cancel your LinkedIn Premium subscription. Many of the features help you reach more people, and is less worth it if you aren’t actively pursuing a job.

 

 

And that's how you cancel your subscription to LinkedIn Premium. If you want more information on what you’ll be missing once you cancel your account, check out our article on what LinkedIn Premium is. If you’re looking to get rid of your LinkedIn account for good, check out our step-by-step tutorial on how to delete your LinkedIn account.

More LinkedIn Tutorials

See all 26 LinkedIn tutorials

Support TechBoomers

TechBoomers offers free articles that teach people how to use technology to make their lives easier (and more fun!). To support our work, some of our content contains links to websites that pay us affiliate commissions when our users visit them through us and make purchases. Learn more about how this works.

Did you learn what you wanted to?

Was something in this tutorial missing, confusing, or out of date? Or did it give you all the information you needed, and you just want to say "thanks"? We'd love to hear what you thought!