Is Flickr giving you a headache instead of being a help? Have you found a Flickr alternative that you'd like to stick with instead? If so, you can shut down your Flickr account in a flash. This tutorial will show you how to do it.
Go to www.flickr.com in your web browser and log in.
Click your profile picture in the top-right corner, and then select Settings.
Under the Personal Information category (which you should have selected by default), next to the "Your Flickr Account" section, click Delete Your Flickr Account.
Flickr will warn you of what will happen when you delete your account. If you are sure that you wish to delete your Flickr account, click OK - Next.
Flickr will ask you to confirm that you really want to delete your Flickr account. If you do, click the check box here to mark it, acknowledging that deleting your account means permanently deleting all of the photos and videos that you have uploaded, as well as any other information that has been added to them. (Don't worry, though; it won't delete the original files if you still have them on your computer.) Finish up by clicking Delete My Account.
That's it! Your Flickr account is gone!
All photos and videos that you have uploaded to Flickr, along with any other information that you have added about them (such as "tags", descriptions, and other people's comments) will be lost and cannot be recovered.
Your user name and profile page Internet address cannot be used again. However, you can sign up for a new account with a different user name.
Learn how to use
Was something in this tutorial missing, confusing, or out of date? Or did it give you all the information you needed, and you just want to say "thanks"? We'd love to hear what you thought!