How to Delete Your Goodreads Account

If you don't feel that you're getting the best use out of Goodreads, or want to try a competing service (such as one of those that we listed in our Sites like Goodreads article), here's how to close the book on your account.

How to Delete Your Goodreads Account

  1. Go to in your web browser and log in.

  2. Click the small triangle beside your profile picture to open your profile menu, and click Edit Profile.

  3. Once you're on the "My Account" page, click the Settings tab.

  4. At the bottom of the page, click Delete My Account.

  5. On the next screen, you will have to confirm that you wish to delete your account.  If you wish for Goodreads to keep any comments that you have made in discussion forums (as references for other users), keep the check box here marked.  If not, click it to unmark it.

    (NOTE: If you choose to keep your comments, your user name will be removed from them, and they will be displayed as being from an anonymous poster.  This is to protect your privacy).

    When you've made your choice, click Delete My Account if you wish to delete your account.

Notes about deleting your Goodreads account

  • When your account is deleted, all personal information associated with your account will be removed from Goodreads.  This includes the list(s) of books on your bookshelves (including ones that you've read, rated, and reviewed), as well as the list of friends you've connected with on Goodreads.

  • If you are an author on Goodreads, deleting your personal account will not delete your author profile, nor will it delete information on any books that you have written (including ratings and reviews of them left by other users).

Go to

More Goodreads Tutorials

See all 13 Goodreads tutorials

Did you learn what you wanted to?

Was something in this tutorial missing, confusing, or out of date? Or did it give you all the information you needed, and you just want to say "thanks"? We'd love to hear what you thought!