How to Delete Your Instagram Account

Had enough of the shutterbugs on Instagram, and want to shut down your account?  Perhaps you found a service that you prefer over Instagram, such as one that we listed in our Instagram Alternatives article?  In any case, you have two options: you can temporarily cancel your account, or you can permanently delete it.  This tutorial will show you how to do both.

Note that cancelling or deleting your account requires you to visit Instagram's website directly.  You cannot do either of them through the Instagram mobile application.  Also, you cannot contact Instagram and ask them to cancel or delete your account for you.

To temporarily deactivate your Instagram account:

  1. Go to www.instagram.com and log in.

  2. Click your user name to go to your profile.

  3. Click Edit Profile.

  4. Click Temporarily Disable My Account.

  5. Select a reason why you want to deactivate your Instagram account.

  6. Enter your Instagram account password.

  7. Click Temporarily Disable Account.

To permanently delete your Instagram account:

  1. Open your web browser and go to this link.

  2. Log into your Instagram account.

  3. Select a reason why you're deleting your Instagram account from the drop-down menu.

  4. Re-enter your Instagram account password to confirm that you really want to delete your account.

  5. Click Permanently Deactivate My Account.

Okay, so you've got the basic steps down.  Now, we'll go over the details of how to get your Instagram account deactivated or deleted (your choice), complete with pictures to show you where to go.

How to cancel an Instagram account

  1. Go to www.instagram.com in your web browser and click Log In.

  2. Click in the box labelled "Username" and type in your user name on Instagram.  Then, click in the box labelled "Password" and type in the password that you use for your Instagram account.  Then click Log In.

  3. Once you're logged in, click your user name in the top-right corner.

  4. Once you're on your profile page, click Edit Profile.

  5. Scroll to the bottom of the screen and click Temporarily Disable My Account.

  6. On the next screen, click the drop-down menu beside "Why Are You Disabling Your Account?" and select a reason why you want to temporarily cancel your Instagram account.  Then, click in the box labelled "To Continue, Please Re-Enter Your Password" and type in the password that you use for your Instagram account.  Finally, click Temporarily Disable Account.

When your account is disabled, your profile -- including your photos, comments, and "likes" -- will be removed from Instagram, but not deleted.  If you want to start using Instagram again, simply log back into your account.

How to delete your Instagram account permanently

WARNING: If you permanently delete your Instagram account, it cannot be recovered.  That account's user name will also become permanently unavailable, meaning that you cannot use it to sign up for a new account or rename an existing account.  (You can create a new account with a different user name, though.)

  1. Open your web browser and go to this link.

  2. You will be asked to log into Instagram.  Click in the box labelled "Username" and type in the user name that you use on Instagram.  Then click in the box labelled "Password" and type in the password that you use to secure your Instagram account.  Finally, click Log In.

  3. Next to "Why Are You Deleting Your Account?", click the drop-down menu and select a reason why you want to delete your Instagram account.  Then, next to "To Continue, Please Re-Enter Your Password" and type in the password that you use for your Instagram account.  Finally, click Permanently Deactivate My Account.

Whether your break from Instagram is temporary or permanent, you now know how to make it. In the meantime, be sure to check out the rest of Techboomers.com for more courses on popular websites and Internet applications that can make your life easier... or at least more fun!

Go to Instagram

More Instagram Tutorials

See all 24 Instagram tutorials

Did you learn what you wanted to?

Was something in this tutorial missing, confusing, or out of date? Or did it give you all the information you needed, and you just want to say "thanks"? We'd love to hear what you thought!