How to Delete a Lyft Account

Have you had enough of Lyft? Are you thinking that one of the apps like Lyft that we mentioned would serve you better than this taxi service? In any case, if you want or need to delete your Lyft account, our final lesson of this course will show you how to do it.

Unfortunately, you cannot fully cancel your Lyft account independently. You need to contact Lyft’s customer service department in order to delete your account.

To delete your Lyft account:

  1. Go to
  2. Select Help.
  3. Scroll down to the bottom and select Contact Support.
  4. Fill out a subject, select Passenger from the first drop-down menu, and select Other from the second drop-down menu.
  5. Indicate that you would like to delete your account in the "Additional Details" box.
  6. Click Submit.

For a more detailed breakdown of this process, and for information about what will happen when you contact Lyft, see our full set of instructions (with pictures!) below.

Detailed instructions for how to cancel a Lyft account

1. Open your web browser and visit Lyft’s website.

The first step to deleting your Lyft account is to go to in your web browser. You can also access Lyft Help through your Lyft app; however, the app will take you to the Lyft website in the web browser of your mobile phone, so you might as well skip the extra step and start in your web browser!

2. From Lyft’s main web page, select “Help" at the top of the screen.

Click Help beside the Lyft logo at the top-left corner of your screen.

Access the Lyft help page

3. From the “Help” screen, scroll down to contact Lyft support.

Scroll down to the bottom of the next web page, and click the purple Contact Support button.

Contact Lyft support

4. Fill out the contact form and indicate that you would like to delete your account.

You will arrive at a contact form that you can fill out and send to Lyft’s customer service department. Begin by filling in your email address and a subject, as you would for a typical email; your subject should be something like “Delete My Account” to make it clear what you want. Then fill in your phone number, and select Passenger from the first drop-down menu. (If you drive for Lyft, select Driver at this stage instead.)

For the “What can we help you with?” drop-down menu, select the Other option. The "Additional Details" box here is like the body of an email, where you can write anything to Lyft’s customer support. Make it clear that you would like to delete your Lyft account, and provide a reason why (if you wish).

Fill out the Lyft contact form

5. Submit the contact form to delete your account.

Press the purple Submit button at the bottom of the contact form. This will send an email to Lyft’s customer support team, and they will contact you promptly with a response. Ensure that you have tied up any loose ends with Lyft prior to submitting this form, as you will no longer be able to once your account has been deleted. Make sure to confirm with Lyft customer service that your account has been deleted.

Submit the Lyft contact form


That’s everything that you can do on your end to delete your Lyft account – leave the rest up to Lyft’s customer service team! Check your email periodically for any updates on your account. Also, make sure to check out our article on the 6 best apps like Lyft if you are looking for another taxi service!

Visit Lyft

More Lyft Tutorials

See all 9 Lyft tutorials

Did you learn what you wanted to?

Was something in this tutorial missing, confusing, or out of date? Or did it give you all the information you needed, and you just want to say "thanks"? We'd love to hear what you thought!