How to Delete Skype Messages

We've all had those times where we send a message to someone on social media or over a messaging service like Skype, immediately regret it, and want to cancel the message.  Or, perhaps you'd rather not talk to someone on Skype for a while, so you'd like to hide previous messages from them.  Or maybe you'd like to forget everything that you've said (or has been said to you) on Skype and start fresh.  This lesson will show you how to do all three of those things!

To delete a Skype message:

  1. Open the Skype application and log in. 

  2. Write a message on Skype to someone. 

  3. Quickly right-click on the message, and then left-click Remove Message in the menu that appears.

    How to remove a single Skype message from a conversation

  4. A pop-up box will appear, asking if you really want to delete the message.  Click Remove  to delete the message.

    How to confirm the deletion of a single Skype message

(NOTE: You only have a limited amount of time to delete a single message.  If you wait too long after sending a message, you will be unable to delete it.)

To hide a Skype conversation:

  1. Open the Skype application and log in.

  2. Click Recent to see your active conversations on Skype.  Right-click on a contact's name, and then click Hide Conversation.

    How to hide a Skype conversation

  3. To show conversations that have previously been hidden, click the View menu, and then select Show Hidden Conversations from the drop-down menu.

    How to reveal hidden Skype conversations

(NOTE: Your conversation may also become visible again if you send or receive another message in it.)

To delete your entire conversation history on Skype:

  1. Open the Skype application and log in.

  2. Click the Skype menu at the top of the screen, and then select Privacy from the drop-down menu.

    How to access your Skype privacy settings

  3. From your  "Privacy Settings" on Skype, under "Keep History For", click Clear History.  Click Delete in the pop-up box that appears to delete your conversation history.

    How to delete your Skype conversation history

(NOTE: This will only clear your conversation history for the particular device that you are using Skype on.  If you are using Skype on a different device, even with the same account, this will not delete your conversation history for Skype on that device.)

 

Those are all of the different ways that you can hide or delete Skype messages and conversations!

Mark_complete_lg

Mark_complete_sm Back_to_course Go to Skype.com

More Skype Tutorials

See all 18 Skype tutorials

Did you learn what you wanted to?

Was something in this tutorial missing, confusing, or out of date? Or did it give you all the information you needed, and you just want to say "thanks"? We'd love to hear what you thought!