How to Delete Your Tumblr Account

Have you had a falling out with Tumblr?  Did you perhaps want to try one of Tumblr's alternatives?  If you're looking to trash your Tumblr account, here's what to do.

To delete your Tumblr account:

  1. Go to in your web browser, and log into your account.

  2. Click the "Account" icon, and then select "Settings" from the drop-down menu.

  3. Click "Delete Account" at the bottom of the "Account" section of your settings.

  4. Enter your email address and password.

  5. Click "Delete Everything".

It's a pretty straightforward process, but just so you don't take a tumble while doing it, we'll show you what to look for during each step.

Detailed instructions for how to cancel your Tumblr account

1. Open your web browser, go to, and log in.

If you need help remembering how to log into Tumblr, see steps 1 and 2 in our How to Create a Tumblr Blog tutorial.

2. Click the "account" icon in the top-right corner, and click "Settings".

Remember, the "Account" icon is the one that looks like a blank profile picture icon.  Clicking on it will display a drop-down menu; clicking Settings will get you to your settings screen.

How to access your Tumblr settings

3. Scroll to the bottom of the "Account" section, and click "Delete Account".

You should automatically be taken to the Account section of your settings screen.  If you somehow end up in a different section, click Account on the right-hand side of your settings menu.  Then scroll to the bottom of the section and click Delete Account.

How to begin the Tumblr account deletion process

4. Enter your email address and password, and then click "Delete Everything".

Click in the box labelled "Email" and type in the email address that you used to sign up for Tumblr.  Next, click in the box labelled "Password" and type in the password that protects your Tumblr account.  Finally, click Delete Everything

You can also just click Never Mind to forego deleting your account and go back to your account settings.

How to confirm that you wish to delete your Tumblr account


Note that if you delete your Tumblr account, you will lose any blog themes that you've created, "likes" given by you to other blogs or posts, and messages that you have exchanged with other Tumblr users.  You will also lose all of your blogs on Tumblr, including everything that you have posted on them and any "likes" that they have accrued from other Tumblr users.  (Note, however, that this will not delete any of your posts that other Tumblr users have re-blogged to their own blogs.)  Anyway, now you know how to get rid of your Tumblr account if you no longer want or need it!

Go to Tumblr

More Tumblr Tutorials

See all 15 Tumblr tutorials

Did you learn what you wanted to?

Was something in this tutorial missing, confusing, or out of date? Or did it give you all the information you needed, and you just want to say "thanks"? We'd love to hear what you thought!