How to Delete Your Twitter Account

Is Twitter just too much of a noise-filled squawk box for you?  Thinking of flying the coop and trying out Twitter alternative?  In this article, we’re going to show you how to delete your Twitter account in five simple steps:

To delete a Twitter account

  1. Go to www.twitter.com and log in.

  2. Click on your profile picture, and then select Settings.

  3. Click Account, and then click Deactivate My Account.

  4. Read the warnings (or not), and then click Deactivate [your Twitter user name].

  5. Enter your password, and then click Deactivate Account.

Need a little more guidance than that?  Below are detailed instructions with screenshots to point you in the right direction.

Detailed instructions on how to delete your Twitter account

  1. Go to www.twitter.com in your web browser and log in.

  2. Click on your profile picture in the top-right corner, and select Settings from the drop-down menu.

  3. At the bottom of the "Account" category (click Account in the left-hand menu if you aren't there), click Deactivate My Account.

  4. On the next page, read the information associated with deactivating your account, and then click Deactivate [your Twitter handle] if you wish to deactivate your account.

  5. A new window will pop up asking you to re-enter your Twitter password in order to confirm that you wish to deactivate your Twitter account.  Click in the box marked "Password" and type in the password for your Twitter account, and then click Deactivate Account.

Notes about deleting your Twitter account

  • Deactivating your account on Twitter does not automatically delete it.  Instead, Twitter will wait 30 days after you deactivate your account before they begin the process of permanently deleting your account.  This may take up to one week.

  • If your account is deactivated and you log back into it during the 30-day wait period, your account will be reactivated and removed from the deletion queue.

  • Once the 30-day period after deactivating your account has passed, Twitter will lock your account and begin permanently deleting it.  At this point, you cannot reactivate your account by logging back into it.

  • Even if your account is deactivated, nobody else can use the user name or email address associated with your account to create a new account.  However, after your account is permanently deleted, your user name and email address become available for use again.

  • While most of your content on Twitter should become invisible within a few minutes after deactivating your account, some of it may still remain visible for a few days, especially if it has been re-tweeted or marked as a favourite by several people.

  • Though Twitter will permanently remove your account 30 days after you deactivate it, some of your information from Twitter may still show up on search engines, such as Google Search or Bing.

 

There!  Your Twitter account is now deactivated, and will be deleted in 30 days.  If you have a change of heart during that time and want to keep using Twitter, just log back into Twitter before the 30 days are up.  Twitter will take your account off the list of ones to be deleted, and let you pick up right where you left off!

Be sure to explore Techboomers.com for more comprehensive and easy-to-use tutorials and courses on today's popular websites and Internet apps!

Go to Twitter.com

More Twitter Tutorials

See all 21 Twitter tutorials

Did you learn what you wanted to?

Was something in this tutorial missing, confusing, or out of date? Or did it give you all the information you needed, and you just want to say "thanks"? We'd love to hear what you thought!