How to Delete Your Uber Account

Do you feel that it's time to tell Uber to hit the road?  Perhaps you'd like to see how one of the apps like Uber that we mentioned stacks up to the popular ride-sharing service.  In any case, if you want or need to delete your Uber account, our final lesson of this course will show you how to do it.

Note that, unfortunately, you can't unilaterally delete your Uber account.  You have to submit a request to Uber's customer service team and have them do it for you.

To delete your Uber account:

  1. Log into the Uber mobile app.

  2. Go to your main menu, and then tap "Help".

  3. Tap "Account", and then tap "I'd Like to Delete My Account".

  4. Tap the first box, and type in "I confirm that I'd like to delete my account."

  5. Tap the second box, and type in why you want to delete your Uber account.

  6. Tap "Submit".

The process sounds easy, but it's a bit tricky to find everything.  Fortunately, we have a full set of instructions with pictures to guide you in the right direction.

Detailed instructions for how to cancel an Uber account

1. Log into your account.

You can do this on the Uber website, but (as we'll be doing in this tutorial) you can do it on the Uber mobile app, too.

2. On the main screen, go to the "Help" section from the main Uber menu.

The first thing that you're going to want to do is tap the three bars in the top-left corner of the main screen on Uber, which makes the main menu appear in a sidebar on the left.  From there, tap Help.

How to access the Help menu on Uber

3. From the "Help" screen, report a general problem with your Uber account.

Once you're on the "Help" screen for Uber, tap Account as the category that you need help with.

How to access help with your Uber account

4. From the list of "Account" issues, request to have your Uber account deleted.

When you get to the list of issues that you can report about your Uber account, scroll to the bottom of the list and tap I'd Like to Delete My Account.

How to request the deletion of your Uber account

5. Submit a confirmation of your request to delete your Uber account.

You will now need to confirm that you really want to delete your Uber account.  To do so, tap the box labelled "Confirm Account Deletion Request" and use your (virtual) keyboard to type in these exact words: "I confirm that I'd like to delete my account."  This tells Uber that you are serious about wanting to close your account.  After that, tap the box labelled "Share Details" and type in a short explanation of why you want to delete your Uber account (e.g. fares are too high; taxis take too long to arrive; surge pricing is too often in effect in your area).  Then tap Submit.

How to confirm the deletion of your Uber account


Well, that's about everything that you can do on your end to delete your Uber account; the rest is in the hands of Uber's customer service team!  Just remember that once your Uber account is closed, Uber can't solve any other issues with it, so make sure that you take care of those beforehand!  Happy driving!

Go to Uber

More Uber Tutorials

See all 16 Uber tutorials

Did you learn what you wanted to?

Was something in this tutorial missing, confusing, or out of date? Or did it give you all the information you needed, and you just want to say "thanks"? We'd love to hear what you thought!