Settings on Dropbox.com

You can adjust the settings to control how your Dropbox account works overall by visiting the Dropbox website.

If you have the special Dropbox program installed on your computer, you can change its settings, too!  See our Dropbox Settings for Windows tutorial for a list of what you can tinker with.

General Dropbox Settings

You can access your general Dropbox settings by going to www.dropbox.com and logging in, clicking on your name in the top-right corner, and clicking Settings.

There are three categories of settings that you can change here; click on the respective tab to see the settings in that category.

Profile

This tab allows you to change general settings concerning how Dropbox and other people who use it interact with you.

Name -- How your name displays on Dropbox; you can change it, if you wish.

Account Type -- Shows the current pricing plan that you're using, and allows you to change it.  See our Dropbox Pricing article for more information.

Account Photo -- A picture of you that pairs with your name on Dropbox.  You can use an image file that you've stored on Dropbox as your profile picture, and change it as you like.

Personal Email -- The email address that your Dropbox account is linked with, and sends messages to.  You can change it, if you wish.

Language -- The language that Dropbox displays in; you can change it, if you wish.

Email Notifications: Personal -- This allows you to choose when Dropbox will send you emails.  Click the check boxes beside each option to mark or unmark them.

  • "My Dropbox Is Almost out Of Space" -- notifies you when you have used up most of your memory storage capacity on Dropbox; you might want to delete some files on Dropbox, or at least move them off Dropbox.

  • "A New Device Is Linked to Dropbox" -- notifies you when a new computer or mobile device installs the Dropbox access program and uses it to link to your account on Dropbox.  Usually, you'll be the one doing this, but if you aren't, it might be good to know about it so that you can let Dropbox know that there's a problem with your account.

  • "A New App Is Connected to Dropbox" -- notifies you when a third-party service, such as Facebook or Twitter, links to your account on Dropbox in order to enable some features.  Again, you'll usually be the one doing this, but it might not hurt to keep this on in case an application connects without your knowledge or permission.  Then, you can contact Dropbox and let them know that something's wrong with your account.

  • "Dropbox Newsletter" -- notifies you of any important updates to Dropbox.

  • "Dropbox Tips" -- gives you hints on how to get the most out of Dropbox.

Date Format / Dropbox Settings -- These are generally aesthetic or trivial settings that you generally won't be using too much.  Don't worry about them.

Account

In addition to showing you how much memory storage space your Dropbox account is using, this tab lets you do a few other things.

Upgrade Your Account -- Allows you to upgrade your account to Dropbox Pro or Dropbox for Business.  See our Dropbox Pricing article for more information on the benefits of upgrading.

Earn More Space -- If you have a Dropbox Basic or Dropbox Pro account, you can refer friends to Dropbox in order to increase your account's memory storage capacity.  See our Dropbox Referrals tutorial to learn how to do this.

Connected Services -- This allows you to connect your Dropbox account to your accounts on Facebook, Twitter, Gmail, or Yahoo Mail.  This makes it easier for Dropbox to find people with whom you can share files and collaborate, and may also open up some extra features.  You can also disconnect these accounts from your Dropbox account, if you wish.

Delete My Dropbox -- This allows you to close your Dropbox account.  See our How to Delete a Dropbox Account tutorial for specific instructions.

Security

This tab has settings that allow you make your Dropbox account more secure and private.

Password -- Allows you to change the password to your Dropbox account, or reset it if you've forgotten what it is (and so can't access Dropbox from other devices).

Two-Step Verification -- Allows you to enable or disable two-step verification, which is a security feature that requires you to input two passwords (your usual one plus a random one that you receive via a text message on your mobile phone) to log into Dropbox or connect a Dropbox access program to your account on Dropbox.  For more information, see our Is Dropbox Safe and Secure? article.

Sessions -- This shows you who is logged into your Dropbox account on a web browser.  If you see another computer logged into your account (besides your own), click the "X" to kick them out.

Devices -- This shows you which desktop computers, tablet computers, or mobile smart phones can access your Dropbox account through the Dropbox access program.  Click the "X" beside a device to unlink it, preventing it from getting into your Dropbox account.  This is a good idea if you sell or throw away an old computer when you buy a new one.

Apps -- Certain third-party computer programs can connect to your account on Dropbox; if they do, they'll show up here.  Like with devices, you can click the "X" next to an application's name to unlink it from your Dropbox account.

 

That's a rundown of the basic settings for your Dropbox account!

Again, if you'd like to see settings for the Dropbox program that you can install on your computer, see our Dropbox Settings for Windows tutorial.

Mark_complete_lg

Mark_complete_sm Back_to_course Go to Dropbox.com

More Dropbox Tutorials

See all 25 Dropbox tutorials

Did you learn what you wanted to?

Was something in this tutorial missing, confusing, or out of date? Or did it give you all the information you needed, and you just want to say "thanks"? We'd love to hear what you thought!