How To Delete Your Etsy Account

Have you had enough of the handmade scene?  Have you lost your vigour for collecting vintage stuff?  If you want to take a break from Etsy, either temporarily or permanently, here's what to do.

To cancel an Etsy account

  1. Go to www.etsy.com in your web browser and log in.

  2. Click on You (i.e. your account) in the top-right corner, and click Account Settings.

  3. Scroll to the bottom of the screen, and click Close Account.

  4. To confirm that you want to cancel your Etsy account, you will need to re-input your account password.  Click in the box labelled "Please Enter Your Password" and type in your account password, and then click Close Account.

It may take up to 30 minutes for Etsy to process the request to close your account.  You will also receive an email confirmation.  That's all you have to do to cancel your Etsy account!

Notes on cancelling your Etsy account

  • If you are a seller on Etsy, there are two circumstances in which the Close Account option will not be available.  The first is if you have an Etsy bill (i.e. the total amount of fees that Etsy charges you each month for helping manage your store) that you haven't paid for that month yet, or is overdue.  The second is if a buyer on Etsy has an open case against you because they never received an item that they ordered from your store. 

    This is only a measure to help Etsy cut down on people who abuse the website by not paying their fees to Etsy, or by scamming people through listing and selling an item that they never plan on delivering, and then disappearing after the victim pays up.  Once you pay your Etsy bill(s) or resolve the case against you (for example, by giving your customer a refund or a replacement item), you will once again have the option to cancel your account.

  • If someone tries to visit your profile page on Etsy, they will receive a message saying that the page is not available.  Similarly, if you're a seller on Etsy, and someone tries to visit your shop page or the page of an item listed in your shop, they will receive the same message.

  • Be careful about closing your account if you have a case open against a seller because you never received an item from them; Etsy will immediately close your case!  (See our Is Etsy Safe? article and our How to Contact Etsy tutorial for more information about Etsy's case system.)

  • Even if you close your account, nobody else will be able to use the username or email address associated with that account to make a new account.

  • You can reactivate your account at any time by simply logging back into it.  You can also do so by contacting Etsy's customer service department (see our How to Contact Etsy tutorial for more information).  Etsy will even save all of the changes that you made to your personal settings.

Go to Etsy

More Etsy Tutorials

See all 16 Etsy tutorials

Did you learn what you wanted to?

Was something in this tutorial missing, confusing, or out of date? Or did it give you all the information you needed, and you just want to say "thanks"? We'd love to hear what you thought!