How to Delete Your Foursquare Account

Last updated: November 28, 2016 - 11:57am EST

If you’ve been thinking lately that you don’t need Foursquare in your life anymore, or have chosen to use one of our recommended Foursquare alternatives instead, you may be thinking about getting rid of your Foursquare account. In this article, we’ll explain how to cancel your Foursquare account, and even break the process down step-by-step to make sure you know exactly how to delete a Foursquare account.

To delete a Foursquare account:

  1. Go to www.foursquare.com in your web browser.
  2. Sign into your account.
  3. Click your profile picture icon, and then click Settings.
  4. Scroll down and click Delete Your Account at the end of the paragraph of text.
  5. Choose a reason for deleting your account, and then click the red Delete Account button.

That’s how you delete your Foursquare account. Remember that all of your data will be lost by deleting your account, so if you change your mind in the future and want to use Foursquare again, you will need to re-renter all of your preferences.

If you want a little more detail regarding the instructions on how to remove a Foursquare account, check out our step-by-step instructions below (with pictures)!

Detailed instructions on how to delete a Foursquare account

1. Visit the Foursquare website in your web browser of choice.

Using your favorite web browser, enter www.foursquare.com into the address bar and press the "Enter" or "Return" key.

Visit Foursquare in your web browser.

2. Sign into your Foursquare account.

Click Log In in the top-right corner of the Foursquare home page. Then, click in the box labelled "Email or Phone Number" and type in your email address or mobile phone number.  Then, click in the box labelled "Password" and type in the password that you picked to protect your Foursquare account. Finally, click the green Log In button.

Log in to your Foursquare account.

(HINT: If you signed up for Foursquare using your Facebook account, You can also click the Log In With Facebook button to log into your Foursquare account using your Facebook account credentials.)

3. Access your personal account settings.

On the Foursquare home page, click your profile picture in the top-right corner. Then, from the drop-down menu that appears, select Settings.

Access your Foursquare settings.

4. Find the link that will allow you to delete your Foursquare account.

On your personal account settings page, click Privacy Settings along the right side of the screen. On the “Privacy Settings” page, click Delete Your Account at the end of the large paragraph.

Access your privacy settings and click Delete Your Account.

5. State your reason for leaving Foursquare, and confirm that you want to delete your account.

On the final page, click one (or more) of the check boxes to indicate your reason(s) for wanting to delete your Foursquare account. When you’ve finished, and you’re sure you want to delete your account, click the red Delete Account button at the bottom of the screen.

Indicate why you want to delete your account, and click Delete Account to confirm you have cancelled your Foursquare account.

 

Those are two explanations on how to delete your Foursquare account! If you’re looking for some apps or websites like Foursquare to help fill the void, check out our article on the best sites like Foursquare here.

More Foursquare Tutorials

See all 7 Foursquare tutorials
Visit Foursquare

Support TechBoomers

TechBoomers offers free articles that teach people how to use technology to make their lives easier (and more fun!). To support our work, some of our content contains links to websites that pay us affiliate commissions when our users visit them through us and make purchases. Learn more about how this works.

Did you learn what you wanted to?

Was something in this tutorial missing, confusing, or out of date? Or did it give you all the information you needed, and you just want to say "thanks"? We'd love to hear what you thought!