Deleting your Gmail Account

After using Gmail for a little while, you may decide that it's just not the right email service for you. You might want to try something else, or go back to the service that you were using before. That's totally understandable, and neither Google nor we here at Techboomers will take that decision personally. When you're ready to shut down your Gmail account for good, here's what to do.

 How to Delete your Gmail Account

  1. Go to and log in. When you get to your main "Inbox" screen, click the settings button () in the top-right corner, and select Settings.

  2. Now, click Accounts and Import in the menu across the top, and then click Other Google Account Settings.

  3. When you get to the new page, click Data Tools in the menu across the top, and then in the "Data Tools" box, click Delete Products.

  4. In the new page that appears, under "Delete a Product", click Delete Gmail Permanently. You may need to go through a confirmation window or page to complete the process, in which case you can change your mind if you decide not to delete your account. Or you can just go through with it.

There are a couple of things to note about deleting your Gmail account:

  • The steps that you followed above will only delete your Gmail account. This will not delete your accounts on any other Google-owned services, so you can still use your Gmail email address to log into things like YouTube and Google Drive.

  • Even if you delete your Gmail account, the email address associated with it can never be used by you or anyone else for Gmail again. If you want to start using Gmail again, you will have to create a new account and pick a new email address.

Go to

More Gmail Tutorials

See all 23 Gmail tutorials

Did you learn what you wanted to?

Was something in this tutorial missing, confusing, or out of date? Or did it give you all the information you needed, and you just want to say "thanks"? We'd love to hear what you thought!