How to Delete Your Pinterest Account

Had enough of Pinterest for a while, and want to take a break?  Or is Pinterest just not all that fun or useful for you, and you want to leave for good?  Here's what to do when you want to put your Pinterest account on hiatus... or on permanent vacation.

How to cancel a Pinterest account

  1. Go to www.pinterest.com in your web browser and log in.

  2. Click your name in the top-right corner to go to your personal page on Pinterest.

  3. Underneath your name, next to Edit Profile, click the settings button () and select Account Settings.

  4. At the bottom of the "Account Basics" section, next to "Account", click Deactivate Account.

  5. Pinterest will ask you why you want to deactivate your account, so click a button beside the reason that best says why you're leaving.  Based on your choice, Pinterest will give you some advice on how to give yourself a better experience, and/or allow you to type in a few more details about your problem (which is totally optional).



    When you're ready, click Deactivate My Account.  Or, if you never want to use your account again and want to say goodbye to Pinterest for good, click Permanently Close My Account.  (You will be asked to confirm letting Pinterest send you an email about this latter choice, as it is much more difficult to reverse.)

Notes on cancelling or deleting your Pinterest account

  • If your Pinterest account is cancelled, you can reactivate it at any time by going back to www.pinterest.com and logging in again.  Pinterest will send you an email to let you confirm that you want to reactivate your account.  Log into the email account that you used to sign up for Pinterest, open the email titled "Reactivate Your Pinterest Account", and click Reactivate Your Account.

  • Deactivating your Pinterest account will not delete your profile, or any of your boards or pins.  However, nobody else will be able to find them or see them.  Note that this will NOT hide any other copies of pins that you re-pinned from somewhere else on Pinterest, nor will it hide any other copies of pins that other Pinterest users have re-pinned from you.

  • If you choose to permanently delete your Pinterest account, there is a window of about two weeks where you can get it back.  Go back to www.pinterest.com and log in again, and you will be provided with a special code that lets you recover your account.  Beyond those two weeks, though, your account will be gone forever. If you want to get back on Pinterest, you will have to sign up with a different email address and password.

  • Permanently deleting your Pinterest account will delete your profile, along with all of your boards and pins.  However, as we explained in our How to Delete Pins and Boards on Pinterest tutorial, this will NOT delete any other copies of pins that you re-pinned from somewhere else on Pinterest, nor will it delete any other copies of pins that other Pinterest users have re-pinned from you.

  • The option to permanently close your Pinterest account will not be available if you signed up for Pinterest as a business.

Go to Pinterest

More Pinterest Tutorials

See all 16 Pinterest tutorials

Did you learn what you wanted to?

Was something in this tutorial missing, confusing, or out of date? Or did it give you all the information you needed, and you just want to say "thanks"? We'd love to hear what you thought!