How to Remove Yourself from a Group Text on iPhone

Last updated: May 23, 2017 - 10:52am EDT

Not enjoying a text message group you’ve been included in on your iPhone? Want to stop being bombarded with notifications and leave the group? If so, you’re in luck. In this tutorial, we’ll walk you through the steps of how to leave a group message on iPhone. We’ll also tell you a few things to keep in mind if you’re leaving a texting group.

First, let’s go over the steps you need to take to leave a group text conversation.

To leave a group text message on iPhone:

1. Tap Messages on your home screen.

To start up the messaging app on your device and view your messages, tap Messages.

iPhone Messages icon

2. Choose the group conversation you’d like to remove yourself from.

Look through the list of your conversations and select the conversation you’d like to leave.

Find group conversation

3. In the message window, tap the “i" button to see the details about your group.

To access and change details of your text message group, tap the "i" button in the top-right corner.

Apple i button

4. On the next screen, tap Leave This Conversation at the bottom of your screen.

Near the bottom of your screen, you’ll see a button that says Leave this Conversation. Tap this button once to remove yourself from the group.

Leave group conversation button

That’s all you need to do to remove yourself from an iPhone text message group. Pretty easy, right? There are, however, a few things you should keep in mind if you’re thinking about removing yourself from a group message. Let’s go over those things next.

Notes on leaving iPhone group text message conversations

1. When you leave a group message, the other people will know you’ve left.

Once you leave a group message on your iPhone, it will tell the other members of the group that you’ve left the conversation. Only go through this process if you’re okay with them knowing you’re leaving.

2. You can choose to simply mute notifications instead.

If you’d rather people didn’t know you left the conversation, you can mute notifications instead of leaving. On the same page as where you could tap “Leave this Conversation” you can instead enable “Do Not Disturb.” This will make it so you don’t receive notifications from this conversation, but are still technically part of the group.

Do not Disturb toggle

 

That does it for everything you need to know about removing yourself from a group text message conversation on your iPhone. Check out the other tutorials on our iPhone texting course if you’re interested in learning more.

Mark_complete_lg

More iPhone Texting Tutorials

See all 8 iPhone Texting tutorials
Mark_complete_sm Back_to_course

Support TechBoomers

TechBoomers offers free articles that teach people how to use technology to make their lives easier (and more fun!). To support our work, some of our content contains links to websites that pay us affiliate commissions when our users visit them through us and make purchases. Learn more about how this works.

Did you learn what you wanted to?

Was something in this tutorial missing, confusing, or out of date? Or did it give you all the information you needed, and you just want to say "thanks"? We'd love to hear what you thought!