How to Remove Yourself from a Group iMessage

Last updated: May 6, 2017 - 10:35am EDT

Are you part of a group chat on iMessage, but don’t want to be anymore? Tired of receiving tons of notifications because so many people are talking at once? We hear you. In this tutorial, we’ll be showing you how to leave a group iMessage.

To remove yourself from a Group iMessage:

1. Open your device’s messaging app.

Tap Messages to access all your SMS text and iMessage conversations.

Messages icon

2. Go to the group message conversation you want to remove yourself from.

In your list of conversations, find the group chat you’d like to leave. When you find it, tap it once to open it.

Select group chat

3. Tap the "i" button in the top right corner.

On the group chat window, tap the "i" button at the top right to access details and settings for the group message.

More options button

4. On the next screen, tap Leave This Conversation to remove yourself from the group message.

Once you tap Leave This Conversation, you won’t be part of the conversation anymore and will no longer receive any of the messages sent in that conversation if the other participants continue the chat.

Select to leave a group conversation

Those are all the steps to leaving a group chat. If you simply want to avoid getting so many notifications all the time, but don’t want to completely leave the group chat, here’s how you can do so.

How to mute notifications for a group iMessage

1. Access your messages by opening Messages on your device.

Tap Messages on your home screen to open your messaging app.

Messages icon

2. Select the group message conversation you’d like to mute.

In your list of conversations, locate the group chat you want to mute. When you find it, tap it once to open it.

Select group message

3. Tap the "i" button in the top right corner of the message window.

In the top right corner of the group message screen, tap the "i" button to access details and settings for your group chat.

iPhone more options button

4. Tap the toggle beside “Do Not Disturb.” When it’s green, notifications for this conversation have been muted.

Move the switch to the right to mute notifications. You can come back and un-mute notifications for this conversation at any time.

Do Not Disturb setting

 

That’s everything you need to know about leaving or muting a group chat on iMessage. If you’re interested in learning more, check out our other tutorials like how to send a GIF or how to delete iMessages.

More iMessage Tutorials

See all 11 iMessage tutorials

Support TechBoomers

TechBoomers offers free articles that teach people how to use technology to make their lives easier (and more fun!). To support our work, some of our content contains links to websites that pay us affiliate commissions when our users visit them through us and make purchases. Learn more about how this works.

Did you learn what you wanted to?

Was something in this tutorial missing, confusing, or out of date? Or did it give you all the information you needed, and you just want to say "thanks"? We'd love to hear what you thought!