We've already explained in previous tutorials that, once you upload files to Google Drive, you can share them with other people or download them to other devices. But what if you don't want to store some of your files on Google Drive anymore, either because you don't feel like sharing them anymore or you're running out of memory storage space? Not to worry; Google Drive makes this easy, too!
Go to drive.google.com in your web browser and log in.
Find the file that you wish to remove from Google Drive, and click on it to select it. Then, click the Remove icon in the upper-right corner (it looks like a trashcan).
Note that removing a file from your Google Drive will not prevent anyone with whom you have shared the file from still accessing it. This is because you have not permanently deleted the file yet; we'll go over how to do that in the next step.
You can click the Trash menu on the left-hand side to see any files that you have temporarily removed from your Google Drive. Though other people may still be able to access them (if you have shared them), their usual actions will not be available (at least for you).
Click on a file to select it, and then click Delete Forever in the upper-right corner to permanently delete it from Google Drive (this will prevent anyone whom you've shared it with from accessing it anymore, too). A window will pop up warning that this action is irreversible; click Delete Forever in this window if you are sure that you wish to permanently delete the selected file from Google Drive.
You can also click on a file and then click Restore to put it back into your Google Drive.
That's it! You now know how to delete files from Google Drive!
Learn how to use
Was something in this tutorial missing, confusing, or out of date? Or did it give you all the information you needed, and you just want to say "thanks"? We'd love to hear what you thought!